The Joy Formidable


The Joy Formidable are a three-piece indie rock band from North Wales, currently located in London, England. The band consists of Ritzy Bryan (lead vocals, guitar), Rhydian Dafydd (bass guitar, backing vocals), and Matt Thomas (drums, percussion). Lead vocalist/guitarist Ritzy Bryan and bassist Rhydian Dafydd originally played together as part of indie rock band Tricky Nixon, which later reformed into a New Wave/post-punk band Sidecar Kisses. They regrouped on returning to Mold, Wales, and formed The Joy Formidable in 2007.

The band released their debut single, "Austere,” through Another Music=Another Kitchen Records in August 2008. "Austere" was followed with a second single, "Cradle" on Try Harder Records, in February 2009 and an 8-track EP “A Balloon Called Moaning through Pure Groove Records two weeks later. May 2009 also saw the issue of a third single, "Whirring," through Friends Vs Records. This was followed in late 2009 with the free digital-only single "Greyhounds in the Slips," produced by and featuring ex-Mansun frontman Paul Draper.

They closed out the year with the limited edition live album, “First You Have To Get Mad” released in November 2009, and had been recorded at their headline London Garage gig two months previously.

The band's sixth single "Popinjay" was released in February 2010. The band's full debut album "The Big Roar," was released in the U.K. January 2011 on Atlantic Records.

MNETID: 972738

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More