The xx


Formed in 2005, The xx is a three-piece band from London, England, currently comprised of Romy Madley Croft, Oliver Sim and Jamie Smith. The xx was originally a four-piece, but keyboardist Baria Qureshi left the group in late 2009. The four original band members met at Elliott School, notable for alumni including Hot Chip, Burial and Four Tet.

Their debut album, "xx," was released on Young Turks in August 2009. Though the band had previously worked with producers including Diplo and Kwes, they produced "xx" themselves, while Jamie Smith and Rodaidh McDonald mixed it. The xx recorded "xx" in a small garage that was part of the XL studios. In September 2010 the band were announced as the winners of the Barclaycard Mercury Prize for "xx." Singles released from the album included "Crystalised," "Basic Space," "VCR" and the U.K. Top 40 hit, “Islands.”

MNETID: 847217

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More