Dave Matthews Band


Dave Matthews Band, sometimes shortened to DMB, is an American jam band formed in Charlottesville, Virginia in 1991. Founding members were singer-songwriter and guitarist Dave Matthews, bassist Stefan Lessard, violinist Boyd Tinsley, drummer Carter Beauford, and saxophonist LeRoi Moore. In August 2008, LeRoi Moore died due to complications from an ATV accident. Grammy Award-winner Jeff Coffin, of Béla Fleck and the Flecktones, has since filled Moore's spot as the band's saxophonist. Rashawn Ross and Tim Reynolds have also become full time touring members of the band. With musicians who each have roots in differing genres, including jazz, classical, soul, rock, bluegrass and hip-hop, the band has come together to create an eclectic sound which has earned them fans from a variety of quarters. Dave Matthews Band have approximate sales between 30 and 40 million copies worldwide.

The band is known for their annual summer-long tours of the United States and Europe, featuring lengthy improvisational renditions of their songs, accompanied by elaborate video and lighting.

In November 1993, DMB released its first live album, “Remember Two Things,” on its Bama Rags label, later re-released by RCA in 1997. The album debuted on college charts as the highest independent entry, and went on to be certified platinum by the RIAA in 2002.

In September 1994, DMB released their debut studio album, “Under the Table and Dreaming,” featuring their first commercial hits, “What Would You Say” (with John Popper on harmonica), “Satellite” and “Ants Marching.” The album peaked at #11 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and was later certified 6× platinum.

“Under the Table and Dreaming” and its follow-up album, “Crash” brought the band national attention, culminating in a Grammy Award for Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal for “So Much to Say” as well as four other nominations between the years 1996 and 1997. The band also achieved hits with “Crash into Me,” “Too Much,” and “Tripping Billies.” “Crash” went to #2 on the Billboard 200 and was certified 7× platinum by the RIAA.

In late 1997, the band returned to the studio with producer Steve Lillywhite and an array of guest collaborators, including Reynolds, banjoist Béla Fleck, vocalist Alanis Morissette, percussionist Aaron Carman, future permanent keyboardist and unofficial sixth band member Butch Taylor and the Kronos Quartet. “Before These Crowded Streets,” their third album with RCA, was released in April 1998. The album peaked at #1 on the Billboard 200 and was certified 3× platinum. “Stay (Wasting Time),” an uplifting gospel song, and “Crush,” a love ballad, became very popular tracks along with the lead single, “Don't Drink the Water.”

“Everyday” was released in February 2001 and did very well debuting at #1 on the Billboard 200 where it stayed at #1 for two weeks. The singles “I Did It,” “Everyday” and “The Space Between,” brought the band an even larger level of popularity and the album was certified 3× Platinum.

“Busted Stuff,” released in July 2002, became their third consecutive #1 album on the Billboard 200 and was certified 2× platinum. Nine of the eleven tracks on this album are re-recorded versions of songs that first appeared on 2000's abandoned project now known as “The Lillywhite Sessions.” “Where Are You Going,” which was not from those sessions, was the first single.

Rleased in May 2005, “Stand Up,” was their fourth straight #1 album on the Billboard 200. The album was the last to feature full participation from the band's saxophonist, LeRoi Moore, who died in 2008. “Stand Up” went platinum and spawned the singles “American Baby,” “Dreamgirl,” and “Everybody Wake Up.”

“Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King,” was released in June 2009 and for the fifth time in a row went to #1 on the Billboard 200. The band named the album in honor of Moore who is said to be the “King” in the album title. To date, three singles have been released, “Funny The Way It Is,” “Why I Am” and “You and Me.” The platinum certified album was nominated for two 2010 Grammy Awards, for Best Rock Album and for Album of the Year.

MNETID: 7705

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More