Bush is a British alternative rock band formed in London in 1992 shortly after vocalist/guitarist Gavin Rossdale and guitarist Nigel Pulsford met in a London nightclub. It was not long before they recruited drummer Robin Goodridge and bassist Dave Parsons and started writing. Dave Parsons joined Bush shortly after leaving the band Transvision Vamp. Drummers such as Sasha Gervasi, Amir, and Spencer Cobrin had all taken their go as Bush drummers before Robin Goodridge was made the permanent fit and thus completing the Bush lineup.

The group chose the name "Bush" because they used to live in Shepherd's Bush, London. In Canada, they were once known as Bushx, because the 1970s band Bush, led by Domenic Troiano, owned the Canadian rights to the name. In April 1997, it was announced that Troiano had agreed to let them use the name Bush in Canada without the exponent x, in exchange for donating $20,000 each to the Starlight Children's Foundation and the Canadian Music Therapy Trust Fund.

The band found immediate success with the release of their debut album “Sixteen Stone” in 1994, which is certified 6× multi-platinum by the RIAA. “Sixteen Stone” peaked at #4 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. The album spawned two Top 40 singles in “Comedown” and “Glycerine.”

In late 1996 Bush released the first single “Swallowed” from their second album titled “Razorblade Suitcase.” The song spent seven weeks at #1 on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart and the album hit #1 on the Billboard 200. “Razorblade Suitcase” featured Steve Albini as the audio engineer who had worked with Nirvana on their final studio album, “In Utero,” three years before. Following the success of “Swallowed,” the album had one more hit, “Greedy Fly,” but then failed to produce any more sizeable hits.

Following the completion of touring, Rossdale went into seclusion in Ireland, where he worked on material for the group's next album. Rossdale periodically sent demo tapes of his works in progress to his bandmates. The group finally convened to record in London in August 1998, where the band reteamed with “Sixteen Stone” producers Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley.

The release of “The Science of Things” was held up by a court battle between the band and Trauma Records. The case was settled in early 1999 and the album was finally released that October. Like the multi-platinum successes of Bush's first two albums, this album also reached platinum status. “The Science of Things” was a major departure in several forms from Bush's first two albums. While the band's previous albums were strongly influenced by grunge, “The Science of Things” featured some electronic music influences that distinguished the work from Bush's earlier sound. Three singles were released from “The Science of Things,” most notably “The Chemicals Between Us,” which spent five weeks at #1 on the Modern Rock Tracks chart and peaked at #67 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart. “Letting the Cables Sleep,” the third single, reached #4 on the Modern Rock Tracks chart. Although the album had a few hit songs, it failed to chart within the Top 10.

In October 2001, now on the Atlantic Records record label, Bush released its next album, “Golden State.” While the album attempted to return to the simple, catchy sound of the band's debut, it failed to achieve the same commercial success as the band's previous releases. Several singles were released – most notably the hit “The People That We Love (Speed Kills),” but none were mainstream successes. The album was the band's least successful becoming their first to fail to attain platinum RIAA certification.

In January 2002, Pulsford left the band after the release of “Golden State” to spend more time with his family and Chris Traynor took over on lead guitar for the subsequent tour, which would turn out to be Bush's last for 8 years.

Due to declining record sales and a lack of support from Atlantic Records, Bush disbanded in 2002. In 2005, the band released a greatest hits album called “The Best of: 1994-1999,” and, a few months later, a live album called “Zen X Four.”

The band's first studio album in ten years, and the first to be recorded with Chris Traynor and Corey Britz, replacing Nigel Pulsford and Dave Parsons on guitar and bass respectively, “The Sea of Memories” was released in 2011. This is also be the first Bush album released on E1 Records, marking their first venture away from Interscope (or Atlantic), who handled all of their previous releases. Produced by Bob Rock, the album took about more than a year to materialize with pre-production beginning in June 2010 and recording sessions wrapping up twelve months later. The single, “The Sound of Winter,” reached #5 on the Billboard Rock Songs chart and #6 on the Alternative Songs chart.

MNETID: 4552

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More