Cage The Elephant


Cage the Elephant is an American rock band from Bowling Green, Kentucky, that formed in mid-2006. While in high school, three of the members, Matt Shultz, Brad Shultz and Jared Champion, were in a band known as "Perfect Confusion" and released one self-titled album under that name. The band signed with Relentless Records after showcasing at the 2007 South by Southwest music festival, and then moved to London, England.

They released their debut album, “Cage the Elephant,” in June 2008 in the UK and April 2009 in the U.S., Japan, Australia and Canada. The album peaked at #7 on the Billboard Independent Albums chart and # 59 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. Their single "Ain't No Rest for the Wicked" reached #32 on the U.K. Singles chart. They released the single "Back Against the Wall" in November 2009.

Their second album “Thank You, Happy Birthday,” was released in January 2011. It peaked at #2 on the Billboard 200, Rock Albums, Independent Albums and Alternative Albums charts. The single “Shake Me Down” went to #1 on the Billboard Alternative Songs and the Rock Songs charts.

MNETID: 394569

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More