Lady Antebellum


Lady Antebellum is a country music group formed in Nashville, Tennessee in 2006. The trio is composed of Charles Kelley (lead and background vocals), Dave Haywood (background vocals, guitar, piano, mandolin) and Hillary Scott (lead and background vocals).

The group made its debut in 2007 as guest vocalists on Jim Brickman's single “Never Alone,” before signing to Capitol Records Nashville and releasing their debut single, “Love Don't Live Here.” The song peaked at #3 on the Billboard Hot Country Songs chart in May 2008 and served as the first single to the group's self-titled debut album.

In October 2009 their debut album, which had reached #4 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and #1 on the Top Country Albums chart, was certified platinum by the RIAA in the United States. The album also included the singles “Lookin' for a Good Time” and “I Run to You,” the latter of which became the group's first #1 country hit in July 2009.

The title track “Need You Now,” was released in mid-2009 as the first single off the band's 2010 second album, and was the group's second #1 country single going on to become the most downloaded country song of all time. “American Honey,” the second single from “Need You Now,” became their fourth Top 10 country single, as well as their third #1 single. “Our Kind of Love,” the album's third single, became their fourth consecutive #1 on the Hot Country Songs chart. The album debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 and Country Albums charts. Shortly after the album's release, it was certified triple platinum by the RIAA. The group was nominated in six categories for the 2011 53rd Grammy Awards, including Song of the Year and Album of the Year. The trio won Song of the Year, Record of the Year, Best Country Song and Best Country Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocals for the song “Need You Now.” Their album “Need You Now” also received the Grammy in the Best Country Album category.

Since Lady Antebellum won the Country Music Association Awards New Artist of the Year award in 2008, they have accumulated seven more awards, including their first Grammy in 2010 for Best Country Performance by Duo or Group with Vocals. At the 2009 CMA's, the group ended Rascal Flatts' six-year reign as Vocal Group of the Year. At the 2010 CMA's, the group became the first artist in CMA Award history to receive the Single of the Year honor for two consecutive years.

MNETID: 383554

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More