MGMT is an American psychedelic rock band founded by Benjamin Goldwasser and Andrew VanWyngarden. After the release of their first album, the members of their live band, Matthew Asti, James Richardson and Will Berman joined the core band in the studio. Formed at Wesleyan University and originally with Cantora Records, they signed with Columbia Records and Red Ink in 2006.

Their first album as MGMT, 2007’s “Oracular Spectacular,” debuted at #12 on the U.K. Albums chart and hit #38 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart. The album has sold over 1 million copies worldwide to date. “Time to Pretend” reached #23 on the Billboard Modern Rock Tracks chart while “Kids” reached #9. MGMT was nominated for the 2010 Grammy Award for Best New Artist, and the track “Kids” was nominated for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals. At the 2009 Grammy Awards, the Justice remix of “Electric Feel” won the Grammy for Best Remixed Recording, Non-Classical.

They collaborated with rapper Kid Cudi, and are featured on the track, “Pursuit of Happiness” from his 2009 album, “Man on the Moon: The End of Day.” They also collaborated on the track “Worm Mountain” on The Flaming Lips' 2009 album “Embryonic.”

Their second album, “Congratulations,” was released in 2010. The album went straight to #4 on the U.K. Albums chart and #2 on the Billboard 200. It also went to #1 on the Billboard Rock Albums and Alternative Albums charts. “Flash Delirium,” “Siberian Breaks,” “It's Working” and the title track were released as singles.

MNETID: 356567

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More