Ulf Wakenius

Most Popular Album

Most Popular Song

Social Links


Ulf Wakenius (b. April 16, 1958 in Halmstad, Sweden) is a Swedish jazz guitarist. Wakenius was a member of the Oscar Peterson quartet from 1997. He was also a member of the Ray Brown trio. Ulf Wakenius also plays with his own band, and has recorded many albums.

In the 80s he played with Peter Almqvist in Guitars Unlimited playing, among other things, during the intermission for 600 million viewers of the Swedish International Finale of the Eurovision Song Contest in 1986. A stop in Rio de Janeiro resulted in three records with Sivuca ''Let's Vamos'', ''Aquarela Do Brazil'' and ''Rendez-Vouz in Rio'' (Sonet 1987).

The cooperation with Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen also started this decade, and they also recorded ''This Is All I Ask'' (Verve, 1998) and ''Those Who Were'' (Verve, 1996).

His own U.W. Group released ''Venture'' (1991) with Jack DeJohnette on drums, Bill Evans and Bob Berg on saxes, Randy Brecker on trumpet, Niels Lan Doky on piano, Chris Minh Doky and Lars Danielsson on bass.

The work with American musicians continued in ''New York Meeting'' with Niels Lan Doky piano, Ira Coleman bass, and Billy Hart drums.

His ''Enchanted Moments'' (Dragon, 1997) was recorded with Lars Jansson piano, Lars Danielsson, bass and Raymond Karlsson drums.

On ''Dig In'' (Sittel, 1997) he plays with Gösta Rundqvist piano, Yasuhito Mori bass and Jukkis Uotila drums.

''Live'' (Dragon), ''The Guitar Artistry of U.W.'' (Dragon, 2002).

After that came ''Tokyo Blue'' (2003) with Carsten Dahl piano, Morten Lund drums and Yasuhito Mori bass; ''Forever you'' (Stunt, 2003), with Carsten Dahl, piano, Morten Lund drums and Lars Danielsson bass; and ''Checkin' In'' (Megaphon, 2004)

His latest release, ''Notes from the Heart'' (ACT, 2005) is a tribute to Keith Jarrett, with Lund and Johansson.

Wakenius had together with Haakon Graf piano, in the early nineties the group Graffiti with members from the John Scofield group, Dennis Chambers drums, Gary Grainger bass.

He appeared on ''Duke Ellington Swings'' (Telarc, 1998); with Oscar Peterson he released ''Summernight in Munich'' (Telarc, 1999) and ''Trail of Dreams'' with Oscar Peterson and Michel Legrand (Telarc, 2000).

With Ray Brown he played on ''Summertime'' (1998) and ''Seven Steps to Heaven'' (1999), as well as ''Some of My Best Friends Are Guitar Players'' (Telarc, 2001).

With Pat Metheny he played Jazz Baltica 2003.

In Norway he has played with Hot Club de Norvège and Vertavo-quartet (Hot Club Records, 2005), and also participated on the record ''Guitaresque'' on Hot Club Records with Jon Larsen, Stian Mevik, Jimmy Rosenberg and others. Other contributions has been on Lisa Nilssons ''Små rum'' (2001), Cæcilie Norbys ''First Conversations'' (2002), as well as recordings by Viktoria Tolstoy and Esbjörn Svensson.

2006 he toured with his show ''In the Spirit of Oscar'' with Kjell Öhman on piano, Hans Backenroth on bass and Jocke Ekberg on drums.

MNETID: 319815

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More