Serj Tankian


Serj Tankian (born August 21, 1967) is a Lebanese-born Armenian-American singer–songwriter, composer, multi-instrumentalist, playwright, record producer, poet and political activist. He is best known as the lead vocalist, songwriter, keyboardist, and occasional live rhythm guitarist of the rock band System of a Down. In his career, Tankian has released five albums with System of a Down and one with Arto Tunçboyacıyan.

Tankian's breakthrough as a solo artist came in 2007 with the release of his debut record, “Elect the Dead.” The album, released through Reprise Records and Serjical Strike Record, peaked at #4 on the Billboard 200 Albums chart and featured the singles, “The Unthinking Majority” and “Empty Walls.” Alongside Tankian on the album were Armenian-American coloratura Ani Maldjian, drummers John Dolmayan and B. Brain Mantia, Dan Monti on guitars and a string section featuring Antonio Pontarelli.

Tankian's second solo album, “Imperfect Harmonies,” was issued via Reprise Records and Serjical Strike Records in 2010. The album opened at #35 on the Billboard 200. Singles released included, “Left of Center” and “Reconstructive Demonstrations.” Shana Halligan from Bitter:Sweet appeared on the closing track, “Wings of Summer.”

“Harakiri,” his third studio album, was released by Reprise/Serjical Strike in 2012. It was followed that same year by his first complete symphony, “Orca.”

MNETID: 29776

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More