Paul Van Dyk


Matthias Paul, better known by his stage name Paul van Dyk (born December 16, 1971 in Eisenhüttenstadt, GDR) is a German Grammy Award winning DJ, musician and record producer.

His first appearance as a DJ was in the Tresor in March 1991. After several more dates, he was given the chance to perform at Juergen Kramer's Dubmission parties in the Turbine club, together with the young resident DJ Kid Paul. The shows were called Paul vs. Paul. His mixing style drew the attention of Cosmic Baby and the two collaborated as The Visions of Shiva. Their single "Perfect Day" was released by the renowned Berlin independent label MFS (Masterminded For Success) Records, run by English ex-patriot producer Mark Reeder and manager Torsten Jurk.

In February 1993, van Dyk and Kid Paul hosted an installment of the weekly three-hour "HR3 Clubnight" radio show perform for a nationwide audience on German radio. The second and final Visions of Shiva single "How Much Can You Take?" was released, and van Dyk and Cosmic went their separate musical ways. By late summer, Paul released his first DJ-mix compilation "X-Mix-1 - the MFS Trip" and remixed Humate's trance hymn "Love Stimulation."

In 1994, Paul released “The Green Valley” EP, “Pump This Party” and “Emergency 911.” Meanwhile, MFS acquired many remixes for Paul. MFS label owner Mark Reeder's close friendship with artists such as New Order gave Paul the opportunity to mix the track "Spooky" from the “Republic” album.

Persuaded by Reeder, van Dyk finally recorded his debut LP “45 RPM” with Johnny Klimek and VOOV. Reeder also compiled the album's running order and design, and chose the album's title as a reflection of the 45 rpm speed typical for dance vinyl.

Mark Reeder compiled “Seven Ways,” which established van Dyk as a trance pioneer and was van Dyk's first real success in Britain. Reeder had successfully convinced his old friend Rob Deacon (formerly of Volume) to license the album for the U.K. and his new Deviant label.

In early 1997, van Dyk began collaborating with U.S. producer, BT. Together, they produced tracks such as 1999’s “Flaming June, Forbidden Fruit” and “Namistai.” The singles "Forbidden Fruit" and "Beautiful Place" did not cause a great impact at first, but with the release of “Seven Ways” and "Words" appearing at the height of the British superclub phenomenon, van Dyk's own material began to attract attention. Van Dyk also remixed a well known early-90s track, “Age of Love” in 1997.

In 1998, “45 RPM” was re-released in the U.K. and in the U.S. To mark the event, and in homage to the defunct E-Werk, Paul released a remix of "For An Angel." In 1998, Paul remixed British trance duo, Binary Finary's well known "1998" single, which was a successful version that took Binary Finary to the top of the German Dance charts.

In 2000, Paul flexed his skills with his melodic, dancefloor-friendly “Out There And Back,” which included the hit single "Tell Me Why (The Riddle)," a collaboration with Saint Etienne. It also included the European hit “We Are Alive,” a remixed version of the Jennifer Brown song “Alive.”

His first mix album 2001’s “The Politics of Dancing” was followed by a world tour and a 2003 DVD release “Global.” Van Dyk also composed the soundtrack to the 2003 Mexican film "Zurdo," for which and won an Ariel Award.

2003’s “Reflections” derived from van Dyk’s trips to India, was a more melancholy affair, and includes the single "Nothing But You," a collaboration with Hemmstock & Jennings. It was nominated for a Grammy in the category of Best Electronic Album.

The 2005 mix album “The Politics of Dancing 2” was preceded by a single "The Other Side," featuring Wayne Jackson, a song dedicated to the victims, and their families, of the Sumatra-Andaman earthquake and the subsequent tsunami that struck Thailand in December 2004. His original productions from “Reflections” have been used in major motion pictures, television, and international ad campaigns.

Van Dyk released his fifth studio album, “In Between,” worldwide in AugU.S.t 2007. The album, which he created over a three-year period, debuted at number #20 on the Billboard 200 and #1 on the Billboard's Top Electronic Albums and Top Heatseekers Albums charts. The album was produced primarily by Paul van Dyk himself, and features a wide range of collaborators including David Byrne of Talking Heads, Jessica Sutta of the PU.S.sycat Dolls, Ashley Tomberlin from Luminary, Alex M.O.R.P.H, Lo Fi Sugar, Rea Garvey of Reamonn, Ryan Merchant and Wayne Jackson.

His work with EA Games has resulted in multiple releases featuring his music on several video games. Paul has also lent his talents to remixing Batman's "Dark Knight Theme" written by Hanz Zimmer. But Paul is no stranger to high profile remixes, he has put his unique twist on Depeche Mode’s "Martyr," Justin Timberlake’s "What Goes Around" and Britney Spears "Gimme More.”

MNETID: 25970

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More