New Kids On The Block


New Kids on the Block is an American boy band that enjoyed success in the late 1980s and early 1990s and went on to sell 80 million records worldwide. Assembled in Boston in 1984 by producer Maurice Starr, the members consist of brothers Jordan and Jonathan Knight, Joey McIntyre, Donnie Wahlberg, and Danny Wood.

In April 1986, Columbia Records released the group's self-titled debut album. The album, almost exclusively written and produced by Maurice Starr, featured mid 80s bubblegum pop material. The first single, "Be My Girl" received minor airplay around the group's native Boston, but failed to capture nationwide attention. The album's second single, "Stop It Girl," fared even worse. The album, however, would later go on to be certified triple platinum by the RIAA, largely on the strength of the popularity the group attained with their next album.

New Kids on the Block's second album, “Hangin' Tough,” was released in 1998. It featured the lead single, "Please Don't Go Girl," a ballad that eventually climbed to #10 on Billboard's Hot 100 Singles Chart and became the group's first hit. The album's second single "You Got It (The Right Stuff)" reached the Top 5 while their next single, "I'll Be Loving You (Forever)" reached #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles chart. More Top 5 singles from “Hangin' Tough” followed, including the title track and "Cover Girl." By the end of 1989, “Hangin' Tough” had climbed to number one on the Billboard 200 Albums Chart and had gone eight-times platinum.

They followed “Hangin' Tough” with 1990’s “Step by Step” another #1 album which eventually was certified triple platinum, selling close to twenty million copies worldwide. The first single, the title track, raced to number one on the Hot 100 Singles Chart and became their biggest selling single. It was followed up with the Top 10 hit, "Tonight," which extended the consecutive Top 10 singles chart run to nine records. They won two American Music Awards in 1990 for Favorite Pop/Rock Band, Duo, or Group and Favorite Pop/Rock Album.

In early 1992, the group released the stand-alone single, "If You Go Away," peaking at #16 on the U.S. charts. In January 1994, their fourth studio album, “Face the Music,” was released. Having shortened their name to NKOTB the album failed to achieve the commercial success of their previous efforts. The album's final single to chart was "Dirty Dawg," peaking at #66 on the Billboard Hot 100. The follow up single, "Never Let You Go," failed to chart in the U.S.

After having disbanded in 1994, several attempts were made to get the group back together, all of them unsuccessful. After secretly reuniting in 2007 and recording a new album, the group released that album and embarked on a concert tour in 2008. The album, entitled “The Block” was released in 2008. It sold 100,000 copies in its first week of release and debuted at #1 on the U.S. Top Pop Albums chart and at #2 on the Billboard 200. The first official single off the album, "Summertime," peaked at #35 on the Billboard Hot 100, becoming their first Top 40 hit since 1992's "If You Go Away."

MNETID: 24260

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More