MediaNet's Privacy Policy has been updated effective May 25, 2018. You can review the updated language here.
Please contact with any questions.



Live (rhymes with "five", often typeset as LĪVE) was an American rock band from York, Pennsylvania, composed of Ed Kowalczyk (lead vocals and guitar), Chad Taylor (lead guitar), Patrick Dahlheimer (bass), and Chad Gracey (drums). Touring members have included Ed's younger brother Adam Kowalczyk as a rhythm guitarist, British keyboard player Michael "Railo" Railton, and guitarist Christopher Thorn of Blind Melon. The band has sold over 20 million albums worldwide.

Their debut album, 1991's Mental Jewelry, was produced by former Talking Heads member Jerry Harrison. The album featured the charting singles "Operation Spirit (The Tyranny of Tradition)" and "Pain Lies on the Riverside."

Live's second album, 1994’s “Throwing Copper,” achieved mainstream success. The album featured the singles "I Alone," "All Over You" and the #1 US Modern Rock hits "Selling the Drama" and "Lightning Crashes." "Lightning Crashes" also stayed at the top of the Billboard Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks chart for ten consecutive weeks. The success of the singles eventually gained “Throwing Copper” the #1 position on the Billboard 200 album chart.

The success of Throwing Copper meant that 1997's “Secret Samadhi” debuted at #1 on the US album chart. The album contained four Modern Rock hit singles, but failed to match its predecessor's success, with sales reaching two million.

Harrison returned as co-producer for 1999's “The Distance to Here,” which entered the US album chart at #4 and featured the hit single "The Dolphin's Cry."

On September 18, 2001, the experimental “V” was released. The first single was "Simple Creed", which featured a rap from Tricky, while the melancholic "Overcome" received significant airplay and became the album's selling point. “V” reached #22 in the US and did not achieve gold status.

In May 2003, the band released, “Birds of Pray,” which reached #28 on the US album chart, boosted by the success of the single "Heaven," Live's first U.S. Hot 100 hit single since "The Dolphin's Cry."

In November 2004, Live released a greatest hits compilation, “Awake: The Best of Live.” “Awake” included "We Deal in Dreams", a previously unreleased song from the “Throwing Copper” sessions, a cover version of Johnny Cash's "I Walk the Line", and a new version of their song "Run Away" with Shelby Lynne sharing lead vocals with Ed Kowalczyk.

They released the album “Songs from Black Mountain” in June 2006. It reached #52 on the Billboard 200 album chart. The first single was "The River." On September 14, 2007, the band released “Radiant Sea: A Collection of Bootleg Rarities and Two New Songs.” The new songs were "Beautiful Invisible" and "Radiant Sea."

In 2009 Live announced that the band would take a two-year hiatus to work on other projects. By the end of the year it was revealed that the "hiatus" was more likely a permanent split.

MNETID: 20029

MediaNet Content Guide: Portions of content provided by MediaNet (© 2014) and some generated from under the Creative Commons License for Attribution-ShareAlike.

Content Information

MediaNet’s Content Information Solutions bring quantity and quality to your entertainment content needs.

  • Content Guide
  • Content Recommendations
Learn More

Content Fulfillment

MediaNet mastered Content Fulfillment Solutions over the last ten years. We offer many tools and implementation methods.

Learn More